lawskills
Loading
Did you know you can download our entire database for free?


Resources
[more] 

Georgia Caselaw:
Browse
Greatest Hits

Georgia Code: Browse

(external) Findlaw Georgia Law Resources


This site exists because of donors like you.

Thanks!


Georgia State Code
Title      40
Chapter       6  
Section Navigation        1 ... 10         11 ... 25    
    26 ... 47         48 ... 72    
    73 ... 95         96 ... 122   
   123 ... 160       161 ... 185   
   186 ... 206       207 ... 226   
   227 ... 247       248 ... 270   
   271 ... 279       290 ... 299   
   310 ... 350       351 ... 375   
   376 ... 394       395 ... 397     
Section1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >>>  
Title 40, Chapter 6, Section 10 (40-6-10)

(a)(1) The owner or operator of a motor vehicle for which minimum motor vehicle liability insurance coverage is required under Chapter 34 of Title 33 shall keep proof or evidence of required minimum insurance coverage in the vehicle at all times during the operation of the vehicle if:

(A) The policy providing such coverage was applied for within the last 30 days, in which case a current written binder for such coverage for a period not exceeding 30 days from the date such binder was issued shall be considered satisfactory proof or evidence of required minimum insurance coverage;

(B) The vehicle is operated under a rental agreement, in which case a duly executed vehicle rental agreement shall be considered satisfactory proof or evidence of required minimum insurance coverage; or

(C) The owner acquired ownership of the motor vehicle in question within the past 20 days, in which case if the type of proof described in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph is not applicable but the vehicle is currently effectively provided with required minimum insurance coverage under the terms of a policy providing required minimum insurance coverage for another motor vehicle, then a copy of the insurer's declaration of coverage under the policy providing such required minimum insurance coverage for such other vehicle shall be considered satisfactory proof or evidence of required minimum insurance coverage for the vehicle in question, but only if accompanied by proof or evidence that the owner acquired ownership of the vehicle in question within the past 20 days;

provided, however, that the requirements of this paragraph shall not apply to the owner or operator of any vehicle for which the records of the Department of Public Safety indicate that required minimum insurance coverage is currently effective. The owner of a motor vehicle shall provide to any operator of such vehicle proof or evidence of required minimum insurance coverage for the purposes of compliance with this subsection. Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (4) of this subsection, any person who fails to comply with the requirements of this subsection shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be subject to a fine of not less than $200.00 nor more than $1,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 12 months, or both.

(2)(A) Insurance coverage information from records of the department shall be prima-facie evidence of the facts stated therein and shall be admissible as evidence in accordance with Code Section 24-3-17.

(B) Every law enforcement officer in this state shall request the operator of a motor vehicle subject to the provisions of paragraph (1) of this subsection to produce proof or evidence of required minimum insurance coverage every time the law enforcement officer requests the presentation of the driver's license of the operator of the vehicle.

(3) If the owner or operator of a motor vehicle subject to the provisions of paragraph (1) of this subsection fails to show proof or evidence of required minimum insurance, the arresting officer shall issue a uniform traffic citation for operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance and shall take possession of the driver's license and forward it to a court of competent jurisdiction. If the court or arresting officer determines that the operator is not the owner, then a uniform traffic citation may be issued to the owner for authorizing the operation of a motor vehicle without proof of insurance.

(4) If the person receiving a citation under this subsection shows to the court having jurisdiction of the case that required minimum insurance coverage was in effect at the time the citation was issued, the court shall return the driver's license upon payment of a fine not to exceed $25.00. The court shall not in this case forward a record of the disposition of the case to the department and the driver's license of such person shall not be suspended.

(5)(A) For purposes of this Code section up to and including December 31, 2001, a valid insurance card shall be sufficient proof of insurance for any vehicle.

(B) For purposes of this Code section on and after January 1, 2002, a valid insurance card shall be sufficient proof of insurance only for any vehicle covered under a commercial vehicle policy as defined in Code Section 40-5-71.

(C) For any vehicle covered under a policy of motor vehicle liability insurance that is not a commercial vehicle policy as defined in Code Section 40-5-71, the insurer shall issue a policy information identification card which shall contain at least the name of the insurer, policy number, policy issue or effective date, policy expiration date, name of the insured, and year, make, model, and vehicle identification number of each vehicle insured; provided, however, that on and after January 1, 2002, any such policy information identification card shall not be sufficient proof of insurance for any purposes of this Code section.

(b) An owner or any other person who knowingly operates or knowingly authorizes another to operate a motor vehicle without effective insurance on such vehicle or without an approved plan of self-insurance shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be subject to a fine of not less than $200.00 nor more than $1,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 12 months, or both. An operator of a motor vehicle shall not be guilty of a violation of this Code section if such operator maintains a policy of motor vehicle insurance which extends coverage to any vehicle the operator may drive. An owner or operator of a motor vehicle shall not be issued a citation by a law enforcement officer for a violation of this Code section if the sole basis for issuance of such a citation is that the law enforcement officer is unable to obtain insurance coverage information from the records of the department.

(c) Any person who knowingly makes a false statement or certification under Code Section 40-5-71 or this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be subject to a fine of not less than $200.00 nor more than $1,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 12 months, or both.

Saturday May 23 09:41 EDT


This site exists because of donors like you.

Thanks!


Valid HTML 4.0!

Valid CSS!





Home - Tour - Disclaimer - Privacy - Contact Us
Copyright © 2000,2002,2004 Lawskills.com