lawskills
Loading
Did you know you can download our entire database for free?


Resources
[more] 

Georgia Caselaw:
Browse
Greatest Hits

Georgia Code: Browse

(external) Findlaw Georgia Law Resources


This site exists because of donors like you.

Thanks!


Georgia State Code
Title      40
Chapter       5  
Section Navigation     1 ... 21       21.1 ... 28.1  
    29 ... 51         52 ... 58    
      59 ... 67       67.1 ... 75    
    80 ... 86         87 ... 121   
   122 ... 145       146 ... 154   
   155 ... 174       175 ... 179     
Section<<< 59 60 61 62 63 63.1 64 65 66 67 >>>  
Title 40, Chapter 5, Section 62 (40-5-62)

(a) Unless the revocation was for a cause which has been removed, any person whose license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle on the public highways has been revoked shall not be eligible to apply for a new license nor restoration of his nonresident's operating privilege until:

(1) Five years from the date on which the revoked license was surrendered to and received by the department pursuant to a person's having been declared a habitual violator under Code Section 40-5-58, reduced by a period of time equal to that period of time which elapses between the date the person surrenders his driver's license to the court after conviction for the offense for which the person is declared a habitual violator and the date the department receives such license from the court; or

(2) Such time as any cause for revocation under subsection (b) of Code Section 40-5-59 has been removed.

(b) The department shall not issue a new license nor restore a person's suspended license or nonresident's operating privilege unless and until it is satisfied after investigation of the character, habits, and driving ability of such person that it will be safe to grant the privilege of driving a motor vehicle on the public highways. Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this Code section or any other provision of this title, the department shall not issue a new license to any person whose license was revoked as a habitual violator for three violations of Code Section 40-6-391 within a five-year period unless and until such person submits proof of completion of an approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program. The department may issue rules and regulations providing for reinstatement hearings. In the case of a revocation pursuant to Code Section 40-5-58, the department shall charge a fee of $210.00 or $200.00 if processed by mail in addition to the fee prescribed by Code Section 40-5-25 to issue a new driver's license to a person whose driver's license has been revoked.

Saturday May 23 11:02 EDT


This site exists because of donors like you.

Thanks!


Valid HTML 4.0!

Valid CSS!





Home - Tour - Disclaimer - Privacy - Contact Us
Copyright © 2000,2002,2004 Lawskills.com